I Never Told You

I knew there was something wrong when I had to force myself to sit down and write about you

There was something wrong when I didn’t have the overwhelming urge to write about your eyes

and how they reflected a rain forest after it rains

I knew something didn’t quite fit the picture then.

Maybe, I was too swept up in the moment.

But in retrospect, it is when im swept up in the moment that I want to write

I would have fallen in love with the way your hands snaked around my body

or how your eyes darkened like an ocean during a storm; when you were a breath away from me

or the way you kissed me; with the intensity of a hurricane sweeping up everything in its path.

But the only thing I seemed to love,

was the way you fell in love with me.

I fell in love and wrote about the way you loved me with your whole heart.

Even if it lasted for a while, you loved with the size of the sun

And that’s what I fell in love with it.

I fell in love with the way you held my hand as we walked

and the way you pulled me close to your body for a hug, and didn’t let go.

I fell in love when you sang to me

and told me about the moon.

I fell in love with you falling in love with me.

 

 

Yours truly,

Painted Shadow

One thought on “I Never Told You

Leave a Reply

