XO

I am quite often cynical about love at first sight,

Because the idea of falling in love with someone’s physical beauty before their personality wasn’t fair enough to that person.

And just like everyone has that exception, He was mine.

When you got in to the same elevator with me, my heart was all ready to sky dive and fall 5 feet down with a broken parachute. It got so caught up in the moment, that it didn’t even realise the parachute had a million holes from the last fall it took.

You see, we were still looking for pieces to put the parachute together.

As you started talking and introducing yourself, my mouth started mumbling words and responses that I had no control of

I was a 7 year old child talking about embarrassing things her parents do at home.

The words that were strung together and spilled out of my lips seemed to have made some sense to you at the time cause you somehow kept talking to me, until we found ourselves walking out of the elevator to the same floor.

I hadn’t noticed how deep and vibrant your eyes were ’til you were standing 3 feet infront of me.

As you continued talking, the heat from the afternoon’s sun had somehow found a map and crept up to my cheeks.

I was mesmerized and started to lose myself in the depths of the light within them.

Your foreign accent only made the whole thing seem more surreal, but I continued to watch your eyes with the most profound concentration I had ever mustered up. My high school teachers would have been proud.

A dozen laughs and more haphazard words soaking up the maroon carpet, we found ourselves lips locked and confessing to falling in love with each other’s eyes.

You wanted my brown eyes to wake up to every morning and I, your hazel eyes to kiss every morning.

With our lungs struggling for breath as we jumped off the metaphorical cliff, did I then realise, that material couldn’t fix the missing parts of my parachute.

Love like yours did.

Love like yours made me a new parachute and packed another extra one in my bag.

Love like yours promised me that when I fell my legs wouldn’t break.

 

Yours truly,

Painted Shadow

One thought on “XO

Leave a Reply

