Love Only Leaves You Lonely

When we met, you lit up a part of me that I never knew was so dark

When you left you took a piece of me I wasn’t aware I was holding

When we kissed you filled a part of me that I thought was never empty

For I had comfortably filled it with alcohol and kisses from strangers.

But you came in to my life;

Like a hurricane that vowed to destroy everything in its path.

You swept me off my feet and spun me around in the air like a force to be reckoned with

I felt love at the same time I felt destruction.

You were the type of guilty pleasure I knew I wasn’t supposed to be enjoying or having,

Because it would all be over soon.

Because you would leave and I’ll be left in the mess that I used to be.

But you were the drug that every fiber in my body craved for.

And in the aftermath of your love, I was the wreck that you left behind.

Knotted hair and lips that cried for yours,

missing pieces of my heart thrown and scattered for the birds to find.

You were a hurricane that I stood with arms wide open for,

screaming at the skies to take me with you in your torrent of madness and love.

One thought on “Love Only Leaves You Lonely

Leave a Reply

