Shotgun and Tongue Kisses

To say I believed in love at first sight the moment I saw the light from your eyes melt down the walls around my heart would be a lie.

I didn’t believe in love at first sight.

But,

The moment I saw you, you reached your hand in to the belly of my chest and wrapped those beautiful warm hands around my pounding heart and plucked it as if it was the reddest apple in the orchard.

The moment I saw you, my heart lurched out of its rib cage prison as if a 1000 volt defibrillator was held to it, and before I could reach out and keep it under lock and key, it had already found a place to call home in your beautiful warm hands.

The moment I saw you, my heart felt like a shooting star that shot out of my body, abandoning the one place it was familiar with, only to be pulled by some magnetic force on to the palm of your beautiful warm hands.

I wasn’t sure I believed in love at first sight till I realized my heart had made more of a home in the rough calloused palms of your hands than the high tower of rib bones and other various parts I kept it in.

I wasn’t sure I believed in love at first sight till I saw your eyes.

 

Yours truly,

Painted Shadow

3 thoughts on “Shotgun and Tongue Kisses

Leave a Reply

