Blank Paper

Pens scribbling
Papers turning
Tick tock
Tick tock
One more minute left on the white clock
The person sitting next to me
Continues to scribble
Like she’s writing her life story
I watch
And wonder
What they are all writing about
30 seconds left on the clock
Their pens continue
On their 9th paper
10 seconds and I start to frown
Other than my name
My paper is blank
I blink down at the question paper for the last time
It’s a different language now
5 seconds
And my pen finally writes
‘Answer 1.’
Clock strikes
My time in done
I just sit and smile
And pretend I’m done
Quick glances from the rest
As they finally elevate their heads
Everyone’s smiling
Not like my fake one
But brighter, and genuine
My papers bundled
With all the others
I smile again
It’s all over.
Yours Truly,
Painted Shadow
Leave a Reply

